About Us

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors of Western Field Ornithologists, Pueblo, Colorado, 17 August 2017.
Photo by © Thomas A. Blackman.
(Click on the photo for a larger version.)

Left to right: Daniel D. Gibson, departing Board Member; David Gillilan, President, CFO; John H. Harris, incoming Board Member; Jon L. Dunn, Board Member; W. David Shuford, Board Member; Karen Anderson Havlena (Board Member); Suzanne M. Carota, Treasurer/Membership Secretary; David E. Quady, Past President; Liga Wurster, Recording Secretary; John F. Garrett, Board Member; Larry Modesitt, Board Member; Diane Rose, Board Member; Homer Hansen, Board Member; Kimball L. Garrett, Board Member; Kurt M. Leuschner, Vice President; Frances Oliver, outgoing Board member; Wendy Beers, incoming Board member; Steve Rottenborn, Board Member; Philip Unitt, Editor, Western Birds; Thomas A. Blackman, President.
Not present: Kenneth P. Able, incoming Board Member.


Officers

President: Tom Blackman, 4470 Orchard Avenue, San Diego, CA 92107, obeach@cox.net

Vice President: Kurt Leuschner, 70065 Sonora Rd #267, Mountain Center CA 92561, kleuschner@collegeofthedesert.edu

Treasurer/Membership Secretary: Suzanne Carota, 3476 Armourdale Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90808, smcarota@gmail.com

Recording Secretary: Liga Wurster, 12842 Safford East, Garden Grove, CA 92840, llauzins@yahoo.com

Immediate Past President: Dave Quady, 39 The Crescent, Berkeley, CA 94708, davequady@att.net


Directors and Terms

Kenneth Able, California, kennethpable@gmail.com , 2020

Wendy Beers, California, docwlb@gmail.com, 2020

Jon Dunn, California, cerwa@earthlink.net, 2019

John Garrett, California, curvirostra9@gmail.com, 2019

Kimball L. Garrett, California, kgarrett@nhm.org, 2019

Homer Hansen, Arizonayouthprog@westernfieldornithologists.org, 2018

John H. Harris, Californiajohnh@mills.edu, 2020

Karen Anderson Havlena, California, jkhavlena@yahoo.com, 2019

Larry Modesitt, ColoradoLm1crow@aol.com, 2018

Diane Rose, Californiaderosester@gmail.com, 2018  

Steve Rottenborn, Californiasrottenborn@harveyecology.com, 2017

W. David Shuford, Californiadshuford@pointblue.org, 2018


Western Birds Editor

Philip Unitt, San Diego Natural History Museum, P.O. Box 121390, San Diego, CA 92112-1390, birds@sdnhm.org


Assistant Editor

Daniel D. Gibson, 3705 Quartz Road, Ester, AK 99725, avesalaska@gmail.com


Associate Editors

Kenneth Able, California, kennethpable@gmail.com

Matthew J. Baumann, New Mexico, mbaumann22@gmail.com

Daniel S. Cooper, California, lathrotriccus@gmail.com

Douglas W. Faulkner, Colorado, zebrilus@gmail.com

Thomas Gardali, California, tgardali@prbo.org

Robert E. Gill, Alaska, rgill@usgs.gov

Ronald R. LeValley, California, ron@madriverbio.com

Dan Reinking, Oklahoma, dreinking@ou.edu


Daniel R. Ruthrauff, Alaska, druthrauff@usgs.gov


Graphics Manager

Virginia P. Johnson, 4637 Del Mar Ave., San Diego, CA 92107, gingerj5@juno.com


Photo Editor

Peter LaTourrette, 1019 Loma Prieta Ct., Los Altos, CA 94024, platourrette@comcast.net


Featured Photo Editor

John Sterling, 26 Palm Ave., Woodland, CA 95695, jsterling@wavecable.com


Book Reviews

Lauren Harter, 2841 McCulloch Blvd N #1, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403, lbharter@gmail.com


Newsletter

Catherine Waters, P.O. Box 3505; 25131 Alicia Dr., Dana Point, CA †92629, cpannellwaters@gmail.com


Special Publications

Kenneth P. Able, Bobís Creek Ranch, 535-000 Little Valley Rd. McArthur, CA 96056, KennethPAble@gmail.com


Webmaster

Timothy W. Brittain, webmaster@westernfieldornithologists.org


Past Rosters:

2016 Officers and Directors

2014 Officers and Directors

2013 Officers and Directors

2012 Officers and Directors

2011 Officers and Directors

2010 Officers and Directors

2009 Officers and Directors