About Us

Who We Are
« back to about us home

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors of Western Field Ornithologists, Fortuna, California, 29 September 2016. Photo by © Ron LeValley.

Left to right: Suzanne Carota, Treasurer/Membership Secretary; Dave Shuford (in back), Board Member; Ed Pandolfino, departing Immediate Past President; Diane Rose, Board Member; Catherine Waters (in front), departing Board Member; Susan Kelly, Board Member; Homer Hansen, Board Member; Frances Oliver, Board Member; Philip Unitt, editor Western Birds; Tom Blackman, incoming President; Liga Auzins (in front), Recording Secretary; Steve Rottenborn, Board Member; Larry Modesitt, Board Member; Jon Dunn, Board Member; Karen Havlena, incoming Board Member; Ginger Johnson (in front), Graphics Manager Western Birds; Dave Quady, departing President; Daniel Gibson, Board Member.
Not shown: Kimball Garrett, incoming Board Member.
Not present: Raymond VanBuskirk, departing Board Member;
Kurt Leuschner, incoming Vice President; John Garrett, incoming Board Member.



Officers

President: Tom Blackman, 4470 Orchard Avenue, San Diego, CA 92107, obeach@cox.net

Vice President: Kurt Leuschner, 70065 Sonora Rd #267, Mountain Center CA 92561, kleuschner@collegeofthedesert.edu

Treasurer/Membership Secretary: Suzanne Carota, 3476 Armourdale Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90808, smcarota@gmail.com

Recording Secretary: Liga Auzins, 12842 Safford East, Garden Grove, CA 92840, llauzins@yahoo.com

Immediate Past President: Dave Quady, 39 The Crescent, Berkeley, CA 94708, davequady@att.net



Directors and Terms

Jon Dunn, California, cerwa@earthlink.net, 2019

John Garrett, California, curvirostra9@gmail.com, 2019

Kimball L. Garrett, California, kgarrett@nhm.org, 2019

Daniel D. Gibson, Alaska, avesalaska@gmail.com 2017

Homer Hansen, Arizonayouthprog@westernfieldornithologists.org, 2018

Karen Anderson Havlena, California, jkhavlena@yahoo.com, 2019

Susan Kelly, California, quailfriend@yahoo.com, 2017

Larry Modesitt, ColoradoLm1crow@aol.com, 2018

Frances Oliver, California, hummer52@sbcglobal.net, 2017

Diane Rose, Californiaderosester@gmail.com, 2018  

Steve Rottenborn, Californiasrottenborn@harveyecology.com, 2017

W. David Shuford, Californiadshuford@pointblue.org, 2018



Western Birds Editor

Philip Unitt, San Diego Natural History Museum, P.O. Box 121390, San Diego, CA 92112-1390, birds@sdnhm.org



Assistant Editor

Daniel D. Gibson, 3705 Quartz Road, Ester, AK 99725, avesalaska@gmail.com



Associate Editors

Kenneth Able, California, kennethpable@gmail.com

Matthew J. Baumann, New Mexico, mbaumann22@gmail.com

Daniel S. Cooper, California, lathrotriccus@gmail.com

Thomas Gardali, California, tgardali@prbo.org

Daniel D. Gibson, Alaska, avesalaska@gmail.com

Robert E. Gill, Alaska, rgill@usgs.gov

Ronald R. LeValley, California, ron@madriverbio.com

Dan Reinking, Oklahoma, dreinking@ou.edu


Daniel R. Ruthrauff, Alaska, druthrauff@usgs.gov



Graphics Manager

Virginia P. Johnson, 4637 Del Mar Ave., San Diego, CA 92107, gingerj5@juno.com



Photo Editor

Peter LaTourrette, 1019 Loma Prieta Ct., Los Altos, CA 94024, platourrette@comcast.net



Featured Photo Editor

John Sterling, 26 Palm Ave., Woodland, CA 95695, jsterling@wavecable.com



Book Reviews

Lauren Harter, 2841 McCulloch Blvd N #1, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403, lbharter@gmail.com



Newsletter

Catherine Waters, P.O. Box 3505; 25131 Alicia Dr., Dana Point, CA †92629, cpannellwaters@gmail.com



Special Publications

Kenneth P. Able, Bobís Creek Ranch, 535-000 Little Valley Rd. McArthur, CA 96056, KennethPAble@gmail.com



Webmaster

Timothy W. Brittain, webmaster@westernfieldornithologists.org



Past Rosters:

2014 Officers and Directors

2013 Officers and Directors

2012 Officers and Directors

2011 Officers and Directors

2010 Officers and Directors

2009 Officers and Directors